Announcements
Read our answers to common questions about JobKeeper, Early release of super and Cash flow boost.

ATO Community

Questions about PAYG witholding?

Highlighted

Initiate

Views 296

Replies 3

Hi!

I have a few questions about PAYG witholding....

I'm a sole trader who makes FREE TO PLAY video games online for the public to download and play offline.

After successfully obtaining my ABN, I have the intention on starting to make my first commercial game to sell to the public.

My first step though, is to apply for PAYG witholding so I can commission the people who work on my commercial game, and withold tax on their behalf as most do their freelance work without a business license, and for FREE

Most of the people I am looking to work with on making my first commercial game are graphic designers, voice actors and music composers, and most of them live overseas in the U.S. or U.K. etc. (outside Australia).

So here are my questions:

1. When I have to declare the amount I'm witholding to the ATO, come tax time, do I need to declare amounts separately for each freelancer I work with or am I able to combine the total amounts for all the freelance workers I work with?

2. How do I know how much tax to withold for each freelancer?

3. Are Freelancers considered as contractors or employees or something else? Because it's likely that I will be working with different Freelancers for each Game I make and these people will only receive one-time fixed commissions for their work.

4. This may sound like a silly question but...is there a fee for applying/ monthly fee for having PAYG witholding?

Thanks!

-IndiegameDEV   

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Community Manager

Replies 2

Hi @IndiegameDEV