Announcements
COVID-19 update: Check out our answers to common questions about JobKeeper payment and early release of super.

ATO Community

Re: Medicare levy exemption 2014

Highlighted

Views 2222

Replies 4

Hi everyone
I noticed that I been charged Medicare levy surcharge on the year 2014. At that time I was on working holiday visa and I just knew that I'm eligible to have Medicare levy exemption. So I emailed them and I got my Medicare exemption statement mail.

Afterword I sent a mail to Australia taxation office address: PO BOX3004, Penrith NSW 2740 on second week of August. But haven't received any reply until now.

I would like to know how to follow up my processing of Medicare levy exemption? Whether I been approved to have my refund or not, they will also reply or just need to wait? How did they work for the refund, should be arranged the payment to my bank account directly, is it?

This is my first time to deal with this and also I wasn't claim the exemption for this year but on 2014. Is that still could be claim or not?

Thank you for your replies. Hope I describe it properly.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Enthusiast

Replies 3

If you just mailed the ATO a copy of the medicare exemption letter, it's likely they were unable to do anything with that. the way you correct a previous tax return is by submitting an amendment - but there are time limits that restrict how far back you may submit an amendment (generally Two Years for Individuals - starting from the day after you received your 2014 notice of assesment). 

If it has been more than two year since you received your Notice of Assesment, you may still be able to ask for an extension of time to object: "

Extension of time to object

If you're outside the time limit, you can ask for an extension of time by including a written request with your objection.