Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Re: Tax income from a WHV to a Partner Visa

Highlighted

Views 7685

Replies 13

Hi, i previously held a WHV and I paid 15% of tax up to 37000 $. From the 1st of March I am on a bridging visa A for a Partner visa 820/801. According to ATO website, I am now a resident for tax purposes; but my employer still continue to pay me with 15% of tax.
Who is right?
Thanks
Ps: even on my previous WHV i think that i should have been considered as resident for tax purposes cause i stayed for more than 6months in only one city, planning to live in permanently.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 10

Hi @Grazy86,

Welcome to our Community!

Generally, your employer will withhold the required amount of tax based on the information you provide in a TFN declaration form when you first start work with them. Your employer will withhold tax at the same rate until you notify them of any changes to your circumstances. You can notify them by completing a Withholding declaration and if you're considered a resident of Australia for tax purposes, select Yes at Q5 'Are you a resident for tax purposes'.

You can find more information about working out your tax residency status for tax purposes on our website, or if you'd like to speak with an operator you can phone us on 13 28 61 between 8am - 6pm, Monday to Friday.

Thanks, JodieH.

13 REPLIES 13
Highlighted

Best answer

ATO Certified

Community Support

Replies 10

Hi @Grazy86,

Welcome to our Community!