ATO Community

Taxation of income earned abroad before migrating to Australia

Ask a question
Highlighted

I'm new

Views 445

Replies 1

Hello everyone,

I'm an Australian permanent resident on a skilled independent visa (category 189) currently living in Switzerland. I intend on moving to Australia in February 2020 and would like to ask a couple of questions regarding the taxation of income earned (and taxed) in Switzerland. It's important to note that the fiscal year in Switzerland runs from January 1 to December 31.

Let's assume the following scenario:

• I keep working in Switzerland until December 31 2019 and I am taxed on my entire 2019 income by the Swiss tax office
  • In May 2019 I sell the share of an investment property I co-own with my brother and pay capital gains tax in Switzerland
  • In February 2020 I move to Australia, in July 2020 I lodge a tax return with the ATO

Now from my understanding I would be liable to pay tax on all income earned between July 1 2019 and June 30 2020, regardless whether it has been earned abroad or in Australia. I may be able to get a credit for the taxes already paid in Switzerland.

Assuming my understanding is correct, does that mean that:

1. Any income earned before July 1 2019 will be irrelevant for the tax assessment in Australia? For example, a performance bonus paid in April 2019 won't be taken into account?
  2. If so, how is the tax offset for the taxes paid in Switzerland computed? Let's say 60% of income was earned before July 1, 40% between July 1 and December 31 2019: Does that mean 40% of the taxes paid in Switzerland will be taken into account?
  3. The sale of my share in the investment property in May 2019 won't incur a tax liability in Australia since the transaction took place before July 1 and was taxed in Switzerland?

Thank you for clarifying.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

ATO Certified

Anonymous

Replies 0