Announcements
Looking for information on the JobKeeper extension? Check out our answers to common questions the community has been asking.

ATO Community

Re: WHM Status Change to Resident

Highlighted

I'm new

Views 369

Replies 2

Hello.

I have few questions and a scenario on my visa change and tax. It is bit same with this thread.

1. I held WHM status on July 2018 to Dec 2018. My income was $24,500

2. Jan 2019 to Jun 2019 I been granted International Student Visa which is I understand that I am now a Resident for Tax Purpose. My income on that period is $16,000

3. Total of my income is $ 40,500 and whole tax year I only work in same company that issue me same PAYG

With my understanding on the discussion above, I conclude these:

1. I will have 2 tax rates. First is 15% on $24,500 as I held WHM status = $3,675

2. Other $16.000 will be under tax free threshold

3. My tax that I should pay to ATO is $3,675

Is this correct or did I miss something? The thing is my employer reported all my income to ATO under WHM rate and when I lodged my tax return ATO issued me bill that I owing ATO $5,880.50.

Any advices is welcome as I really want to clear this thing up.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

I'm new

Replies 0

Edit: I have been granted International Student Visa from January 2019 until April 2023. Point two above is just a period for my income. Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2

Most helpful response

I'm new

Replies 0

Edit: I have been granted International Student Visa from January 2019 until April 2023. Point two above is just a period for my income. Thanks.

Highlighted

ATO Certified Response

Community Support

Replies 0

Hi @ndlayrd,

Thanks for contacting us. Tax-free threshold will be calculated on a pro-rata basis applies if, during the financial year you:

•became an Australian resident for tax purposes, or

•ceased being an Australian resident for tax purposes.