Announcements
COVID-19 update: We expect to publish updates on the JobKeeper payment soon. For other questions, check out the COVID-19 board.

ATO Community

Working Holiday Visa - Taxes Lodgement

Views 721

Replies 3

Hi there,

From December 2017 until April 2018, I worked as a freelance graphic designer for a branding consultancy based in Sydney. I was living in the same city with a Working Holiday Visa and I did not earn more than $37000.

When I called ATO in October to explain my situation, I was told that I had to do an online tax return by the 31st of October or fill out a paper based return after that date, being informed that I might would have encountered a fine each month of delay.

I'm now obviously late due to personal circumstances along with confusion, and I recently found a post saying "if you're here on a WHV and you earn less than $37,000 for the financial year and all income earned was while on the WHV, you don't need to lodge an income tax return or a non-lodgment advice form. We'll place a return not necessary (RNN) indicator on WHM files who meet the criteria not to lodge for the relevant financial year". This being said, could you kindly let me know if in fact I do not have to submit anything at this time? If so, please send a written confirmation for my records. 

Thank you for your time and help! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Devotee

Replies 2

Hi @GB1,

Thanks for your post! Whether or not you'll need to lodge a tax return depends on a couple of factors.

You mentioned that you worked as a freelance designer in your post. If you were hired as an employee, you worked in Australia on a visa subclass 417 or 462, and your employer withheld tax at the correct rate, and you earned less than $37,000, then no, you probably don't need to lodge.