Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Re: What to do if my business partner has been stealing money from the business

Initiate

Views 792

Replies 7

Hello all!

I was a small business owner and unfortunately my store has ceased trade due to lease running up. After 6 years of trading I entrusted my business partner and never really looked at our finances at the early commencement of the business as I was soley busy managing store operations. Now the business has ceased trading I have now discovered my business partner has been

a) laundering money through our business from their other businesses which they own.

b) siphoning money from our business account

c) misusing credit card for personal use & funding purchases for his other businesses

The even worse thing is our accountant is also one of the share holders. This partnership to me probably should've of been red flags but being a first time business owner I was naive and didn't know at the time as I would now.