Announcements
COVID-19 update: Check out our answers to common questions about JobKeeper payment and early release of super.

ATO Community

Re: AI - Artificial Intelligence at the ATO

Highlighted

Enthusiast

Views 471

Replies 2

There is an unhelpful (to me) ATO AI (artificial intelligence) called ALEX. Could be male or female I suspect. And when asked if it is an AI, it says: 

I'm not human, I'm a virtual assistant here to help you with your general tax enquiries. I'm still learning and that's what life is about.

So ALEX is an AI but is not quite sure of itself. Preferring to call him/herself a mere assistant. Which is on par with the local heros who answer questions here. On this chatter box Web site. (I'm spiritually channeling the theme of the 1983 movie LOCAL HERO - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nufb3JysCgY - this is meant as a compliment.

So I have been reading ITAA 1997 etc and came to a sudden realisation that it is the perfect diet for a real AI to get his/her teeth into. ITAA 1997 (etc) seems to me to mean what it says and says what it means. It's a legal set of rules - with yes/no outputs.

Then today I watched a YouTube video about AI and  Geoffrey Everest Hinton who pioneered AI. And decided to ask another question here. 

I notice that answers obtained here are consequential. And I suddenly realised that if there was an AI expert in tax law, it would be possible to have a convivial conversation with IT. That would be so humanising. And simply because the AI would have no fear answering. Possibly because it knows every answer to every question. And can always blame a human anyway. 

The only sticking point seems to revolve around words that mean many things to many people and the ITAA relies on the common meaning, which requires someone to THINK about it when an ambiguous  "situation" arises.