ATO Community

Australian resident for tax purposes - leaving Australia permanently

Ask a question

Views 830

Replies 1

Hi

I would like to check that I have correctly prepared my 2017 Tax Return via MYGOV.

I was an Australian resident for tax purposes in previous tax years and also from 1st July 2016 to 23rd August 2016.(Left Australia permanently)

I earned income in Australia between 1 July 2016 to 23 August 2016,  but also earned income during the period 24 August 2016 to 30 June 2017.

I am preparing my 2017 Tax Return via MY TAX and would like to check that I have correctly completed the return.

1. I have included all income earned for the 2017 tax year.
  2. I have checked that I was NOT an Australian resident for the full tax year and, and included the relevant dates.
  3. Taxable income - $3500.00

Tax calculator advises

• Can claim Tax free threshold for 2 months
  • "No tax payable"

I was under the impression that there was no tax free threshold for a foreign resident, and was expecting to have to pay tax.

Is it possible for someone to provide feedback. I appreciate any help.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

ATO Certified

Enthusiast

Replies 0

Hi Catherine

You are right when you say there is no tax-free threshold for a non-resident.  However, because you were a resident for part of the year, you are entitled to a pro-rated threshold.  It should also be noted that in the year you become a non-resident, you are still taxed at resident rates (but subject to a pro-rated tax-free threshold, as mentioned above).  

The formula in the tax legislation calculates your tax free threshold to be $14,253 (i.e., $13464 + ($4,736 x 2/12)).  

Therefore, if your taxable income is $3,500 you are well below the tax-free threshold and not liable to tax in Australia.  

Whilst I can't comment on the accuracy of the $3,500, note that taxable income:

-   includes income from all sources up until  23 August 2016;