• 155 Online
  • 23309 Members
  • 27288 Posts

ATO Community

Re: PCLS THE TAX FREE LUMP SUM FROM A UK QROPS

Ask a question

Views 78

Replies 10

Please can someone tell me if the PCLS ie that initial 25% of a UK QROPS Pension (tax free in UK) is taxable in Australia?

I have been attempting to get an answer to this now for many months. I have spoken to the ATO on numerous occasions often being passed from one person to another. I initially phoned their Super line only to be advised they couldn’t help and passed onto someone else, who also failed to provide me with an answer. Finally, I was advised by another person at the ATO to apply for a CallBack, which I duly did, citing my issue but I never did get the call back and so the issue remains unresolved.

I started drawing down my QROPS earlier this year on a monthly basis. My adviser asked if I would like to take the PCLS of 25% out of the fund. I asked him if this was tax free in Australia (knowing it was fre of tax outside), he replied that it was and so I took it. However, my accountant now says that I am liable for Australian tax on this amount and as such has been included in my tax return. I await the bill!

I appreciate I am liable for tax on any lump sums and any drawdown from the remaining 75% but would really appreciate it if someone could advise if this PCLS is taxable or not. I can’t believe I am the only person in Australia in this situation, someone somewhere must have come across this and had the issue resolved. Having said that the ATO people I have spoken to know nothing about it. Thanks in advance for your assistance.

J

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Best answer

ATO Certified

TaxTime Support

Replies 3

Hi @John4

Welcome to our Community.

@macfanboy is correct. You may want to consider getting a private ruling. While you are correct in saying that your scenario isn't unique, your particular circumstances will be.