Announcements
We’re aware you may be experiencing issues trying to access our online services. We’re investigating the issue as a priority and are sorry for the inconvenience.
Thanks for your patience so far - we'll keep you posted!

ATO Community

Working on a superyacht

Views 199

Replies 1

Hi there, 

I was hoping to get some general advice regarding foreign income tax, residential status, and with regards for transparency - any solution to avoid paying tax or as little as possible. I work on a privately owned superyacht and spend >6 months outside of Australian annually. I am still a tax paying resident of Australia so from what I understand I am obliged to declare and pay tax on all global income. What are my options to avoid doing so? Can I remain a resident but avoid the taxes due to earning money outside of Australia and not living in Australia for more than 6 months? Would I need to renounce my residency to achieve a tax free status? I would prefer not to lose my resident status as I wish to come back and live in Australia at an unknown date in the future but for now I am happily earning and living outside Australia and wish to save all the money I can. 

thank you very much. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 0

Hiya @Schoonermen1955,

A few things, before I jump into to respond to some of your questions, the first is that I can only provide general information, the second is, I can only provide information about Australia.

The first thing to look at is residency. It is important to know there is a difference between being a resident and being a resident for tax purposes. What we are talking about, is being a resident for tax purposes. There is a page on our website that will help you work out your tax residency.