Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

what are my ATO obligations - Permanent resident wanting to transfer money to AU from US stock accou

Views 912

Replies 4

Hello. I’m am from the US. I am a Permanent Resident of AU and pay AU tax in addition to US tax. I reside & work full-time in AU. I still have a US stock/bond account in the US from when I use to live there. I’m about to renovate my home in AU and want my US investment broker send me the equivalent of $20k AUD from an investment stock/bond account. Is there anything I need to do, or anyone I need to advise before I do it? What do I need to do or report on my AU tax return? What if any tax will I owe? Thank you for your guidance. I want to do this legally and properly.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Former Community Support

Replies 3

Hi @Cslade305 ,

If the money sent from your US investments is a result of selling or disposing of some investments, then you will need to pay Capital gains tax  (CGT) See quote from this linked webpage -

"If you’re an Australian resident, CGT applies to your assets anywhere in the world.".