Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

YouTube Revenue as a hobby outside of Full Time employment

Views 217

Replies 3

Hi,

I have been doing some YouTube creativity for a good part of 9 months roughly now, along-side my full time work which is software development. For me, I consider the YouTube as a hobby of mine but i'm writing this post to try clarify this if I would need to declare tax on any revenue I earn through YouTube moving forward. So after 8 months of doing YouTube content, without earning any revenue, I was able to get partnered with YouTube to start earning some revenue for the content I produce, which began exactly one month ago from today (6 Mar 2021). Since the day the channel had first gained some revenue, it has generated an estimated $4,000 in revenue since, which makes me question am I going to be earning too much to be considered a hobby?

I'll explain now what content I produce and what it looks like to produce 1 video on YouTube.

Some background first:
So the content I produce on YouTube are compilations/highlights of a specific live streamer who broadcasts live to a large audience on twitch.tv, by playing video games. For the past 3 years I would spend half my weekends watching his live broadcasts as long as the timezones and stream times were healthy as it's enjoyable and entertaining to watch. Weekdays it is difficult to catch these live streams as usually this persona streams during relative australian business hours - despite being a broadcaster abroad.