Announcements
Are you a tax professional needing a bit more time to lodge? Check out how to apply online for a deferral, or ask the Community!

ATO Community

Annual PAYG installment still needed if tax return lodged

Views 519

Replies 2

I am currently a sole trader and I have opted for annual PAYG installments. This was approved by the ATO. I do not employ anyone; do not need to register for GST; and my main source of income is through PSI.

I have a full time job, and my income from my sole trading business will be reported on my annual tax return.

In theory I could put in my tax return now, but I am wondering if I will still need to make a PAYG installment after I get my tax bill.

For example, suppose I do my tax return for the 2019-20 financial year in July 2020. I find out that I need to pay $1000 tax. I pay this in July 2020.

Then I receive a notification for my annual PAYG installment. Suppose it is $2000 (due to being based on estimated turnover rather than actual turnover). I would need to pay this by October 2020.

But I would have already paid tax on my sole trader income, so I presume this PAYG installment would essentially be held onto until next year.

As an alternative example or arranging the transactions, suppose I wait until I get my notice for the annual PAYG installment, and it is $2000. I pay this amount by October 2020. Then after the PAYG installment is processed, I lodge my tax return for the 2019-20 financial year. As before I find out I only needed to pay $1000 in tax, so I would get a refund of $1000.

Is this correct, or have I missed something?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @NumberNerd