Announcements
We understand 2020 has been difficult and we're here to try and make it easier during tax time. Search posts, read articles or ask a question.

ATO Community

Re: Does GST apply to income earned before the 75K threshold?

Highlighted

Views 3965

Replies 10

Hey people, 

I'm a new sole trader and only recently aquired an ABN. 

I'm expecting to make above $75K, meaning I'll have to register for GST - but I'm just wondering if I'm supposed to charge for GST on the income I'm making under 75K?

Meaning: for my very first invoice, do I charge GST from my employer; or, do I not start charging GST from my employer until I hit that 75K mark? 

I'm just concious that the onus is on me to pay the GST and I don't want to not charge for it when I'm supposed to... and then be hit with a big tax bill!

Any advice would be appreciated! 

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Best answer

Taxicorn

Replies 0

@emily777 

No, because you were not registered for GST and didn't charge it.

Once you do go over the $75,000 the ATO will require you to register for GST and charge it.

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted

Enthusiast

Replies 9

If you expect to be above the 75,000 threshold in the next 12 months, register for GST and charge GST from the first invoice

Highlighted

Replies 8

But, say, for instance - I move jobs - and I don't end up earning over 75K with my ABN - what happens to the GST I already charged? 

Highlighted

Taxicorn

Replies 7

@emily777 

You will still need to lodge BAS every quarter because you registered and charged for GST.

Remember that your tax return doesn't include the GST in income or expenses.

If you stop using your abn and become an employee then you can cancel your GST registration and back date it to the last invoice.

If you continue on using an ABN in another job you will still need to be registered and pay GST.