Announcements
The JobKeeper Payment scheme finished on 28 March 2021. Find out what this means for your business.

ATO Community

Re: Motor deduction - interest on a motor vehicle loan

Views 25

Replies 4

Hi, I'm a sole trader who performs courier with my own car.

In Deductions for Motor Vehicle Expenses, I'm not sure what does "interest on a motor vehicle loan" mean.

Let's assume I purchase a new corolla.

The car price is around $30k, but finance is able with $100 per week for 4 years & $10k final payment. (3% interest)

And I purchased and started using the car on 01/07/2021.

Am I eligible to deduct for whole $100 per week amount? That would be $5,200 at the next tax return.

Or, should I calculate the interest portion? Could be around $150 I guess.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @simplegg

In order to claim a deduction, we consider when you became liable for the debt. Although you have gotten a loan for the cost of the car, you're still liable for the amount of the car. This means you can the cost of the vehicle in the year you purchased the vehicle.

For interest payment, apply the same ideas. You claim a deduction when you become liable to pay the amount, even if the amount is not yet paid. This means as the interest is applied to your loan, you claim a deduction for it.

You can read about the meaning of "incurred" for deductions in TR 97/7 on our legal database.

4 REPLIES 4

Community Manager

Replies 0

Hi @simplegg,

We are looking into this and will get back to you soon. 

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @simplegg

In order to claim a deduction, we consider when you became liable for the debt. Although you have gotten a loan for the cost of the car, you're still liable for the amount of the car. This means you can the cost of the vehicle in the year you purchased the vehicle.