Announcements
Worried you’re missing part of your refund? Remember, the low and middle income tax offset isn’t a refund on its own – it’s used to offset (or reduce) the amount of tax you pay. The offset amount you may be entitled to is automatically applied and could range between $255-$1080, depending on things like your taxable income and how much tax you’ve paid.
Still not sure? Ask the Community

ATO Community

Sole trader + casual employee JobKeeper extension eligibility

Views 432

Replies 3

I am a sole trader as well as a casual employee of another business. I have received the original JobKeeper payments through my employer who is no longer eligible to receive support through the JobKeeper extension program. However, my own business has had  more than a 30% decline in turnover, so would I, as an eligible business participant of my own business (which has no employees) now be eligible to receive support from the JobKeeper extension? Since I am no longer receiving JobKeeper payments from my employer, can I now register and receive support as a sole trader for the first extension period? Can I use the July - Sep quarter for my business to qualify for a 30% drop in GST turnover even though I was receiving support from my employee until 27 September? Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @Kaylene,

Your sole trader business may be eligible for JobKeeper for employees, but you will not be eligible as a business participant.

This is because the last criteria to be an eligible business participant is you have not previously given another entity, or us, a JobKeeper nomination notice.