Announcements
We’re in read-only mode while we do some scheduled maintenance to bring you a bigger, better and brighter online community.
You can still search the site to find answers or take a look at our current top 10 questions.

ATO Community

Re: Sole trader just under the GST threshold, have international sales over 75k linked to my ABN

Initiate

Views 132

Replies 7

Hi everyone. Im a graphic designer sole trader and had a question regarding my FY20-21 tax return. 

For my FY20-21 financial year, $72,100 income was done for Australian clients for Australian use via my ABN. $43,000 income were sales that I believe not connected to Australia - international graphic art sales designed and sold to overseas clients for overseas use. It fulfilled these items 

• that the recipient is not in Australia when the services are supplied or performed (this condition includes consideration of whether the recipient has any offices in Australia and if so the nature of those offices);

Yes. The recipient of those services does not exist in Australia whatsoever.

• that the effective use or enjoyment must occur outside Australia (this condition includes considering whether employees of the recipient making use of the services provided are in Australia at the time of making use of those services);

Yes. The recipient is overseas and the "effective use or enjoyment" (what a vague term!?!) has occurred 100% overseas, as it has had not use or distribution in Australia 

• that the supply of services is not for work performed on any tangible personal property based in Australia; and

The supply of services was done on a computer overseas and in australia and sent to the client accordingly. What does this mean?? because it was designed on a MacBook in Australia now all of a sudden its required for me to start paying massive gst for those international sales?

• that the supply is not connected with real property in Australia.