ATO Community

which one I have to use accounting software by law?

Initiate

Views 116

Replies 2

Dear Officer:

I am a sole trader and a micro employer with up to 4 employees. My needs are very basic, just interact with my client (sending invoices and check payments), employees (give payments, payslip, PASY withholding, timesheet, etc.), and ATO (generate required documents, keep records, fulfill obligations).

From research, I found, as a sole trader, I need invoicing, bookkeeping, and payroll three main systems.
For payroll, I found Free Accounting Software (FAS), free and seems to satisfy all needs (I'm still researching).
For bookkeeping, the ATO app (my deductions) is free. Some bookkeeping software can connect to the bank to automate the spending and income but since I didn't find a free one. Can I stick to the ATO app?
For tax invoices, I am using Microsoft Word and doing everything manually. Is this legal as long as I include all essential information? Do I have to use e-invoicing software since I didn't find a free one? My needs are very simple, just 1) generate the invoice, 2) send it to my customer via email, and 3) send it to ATO. My client is in China so I don't need an access point to send to their accounting software. And They are paying online

I consulted ATO officers about software, they said I need to connect the software with them to be legal, or the records will not be acknowledged. I wonder which step I have to use the software? Thank you!!

Kind regards,
Limin

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Community Support

Replies 1

Hi @sharkdeng,

You've certainly thought a lot about what your business needs - now let's get those last little ties all sorted out to hit the ground running with it Smiley Happy

We don't have rules or laws in place for which software you use.