Announcements
Are you a tax professional needing a bit more time to lodge? Check out how to apply online for a deferral, or ask the Community!

ATO Community

Instant Asset write off

Views 122

Replies 3

Hi,

I am a sole trader and I have purchased a vehicle for $51,000 that I use 80% of the time in my business.

My question is does it matter if all my income as a contractor comes from the one client. Does the PSI ruling or test have anything to do with claiming the insatnt asset write off. Do I need to pass the Results Test or 80/20 rule to claim 100% of the purchase for the year if the vehicle is used in my business to earn the income.

Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

Devotee

Replies 0

Have a read of https://www.ato.gov.au/business/starting-your-own-business/before-you-get-started/are-you-in-busines...

I can only tell you from experience that many people think they are running a business because they invoice their customer, when in fact they are not.

If you want a definitive answer, I can only suggest you either get a private ruling from the ATO, or make an appointment to see an accountant.

3 REPLIES 3

Devotee

Replies 2

Potentially does, having an ABN does not mean you are running a business. There is no one definition of a "business" unfortunately, but I would consider someone who fails the PSI tests is not running a business.

Replies 1

Hi Devotee,

The vehicle is used for me to earn an income so how is that not claimable as an instant Asset write off, i looked up the definition of small buisness entity  and it states if you carry on a business. The definition of business in the Income Tax act is below.  Based on that definition I am a buisness for the instant asset write off.  It does not say I need to pass the results test or 80/20 Rule.