Announcements
The JobKeeper Payment scheme finished on 28 March 2021. Find out what this means for your business.

ATO Community

Tax on funds received from an overseas Trust

Views 115

Replies 2

Whilst working in PNG, I paid contributions to the AON Master Trust PNG, (a PNG Superanuation company) for several years.  During all that time I was a Tax resident of Australia.  I am looking for information on the the tax implicatons when the monies from the fund is brought to Australia.  I understand that Professional advice should be obtained, and will be, but in the interim I would like to gain a better understanding.

From the ATO website @  ATO Authorisation Number: 1051618374747   ("Edited version of private advice" - NOT BINDING)  a person seeking ATO advice with similiar circumstances was advised that the AON Master Trust PNG is NOT viewed by the ATO as foreign superanuation fund, but viewed as a Trust.  That advice states that the general tax rules relating to trust income apply, namely 99B of of the ITAA 1936.

Whilst the advice ran for several pages, for that persons situation, the final paragraph states:

"We confirm that a withdrawal of an amount that represents amounts deposited by you and your employer into the Trust would come within paragraph 99B(2)(a) of the ITAA 1936. Distributions, to the extent that they come within subsection 99B(2) of the ITAA 1936, would be excluded from amounts assessable under subsection 99B(1) of the ITAA 1936.

However we also confirm, the income accumulated in the Trust (paid to you as a resident taxpayer) that is normally taxable in Australia and had not previously subjected to tax in Australia would be assessable to you under subsection 99B(1) of the ITAA 1936".

QUESTION:

Does this advice suggest that: