Announcements
Are you a tax professional needing a bit more time to lodge? Check out how to apply online for a deferral, or ask the Community!

ATO Community

Re: tax treatment of dividends of ETFs - which financial year do you include them?

I'm new

Views 110

Replies 3

Hi: i am an australian resident. I received  dividends from some ETFs which were paid on 15 July 2021. I assumed that i would include these in my 2021-2022 tax return, like share dividends. However, i have now read that these dividends must be included in my 2020-2021 tax return and cannot verify it else with further reading.  Is this correct? If it is correct, would it matter if I do include them in my 2021-2022 tax return. I wpuld appreciate some clarification. Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @gohawkers

Generally you declare it in the year its paid or credited to you so 2021-2022 FY if you were paid 15 July 2021. See our website for help completing the dividend section of your tax return.

3 REPLIES 3

Most helpful response

ATO Certified Response

ATO Community Support

Replies 2

Hi @gohawkers

Generally you declare it in the year its paid or credited to you so 2021-2022 FY if you were paid 15 July 2021. See our website for help completing the dividend section of your tax return.

Replies 1

Hi AriH,

I think more information is required in order to answer this question.  I'm in a similar situation. I received something called an 'Attribution Managed Investment Trust Member Annual Statement for the year ended 30 June 2021' for an ETF which paid a distribution on 16/7/2021.  The Tax guide provided by my ETF manager says